(Cuneiform)

Quite simply, this is a masterpiece. Possibly the best Muffins record overall. Am I exaggerating? I don’t think so. I’ve been following these guys for over 20 years and, let me tell you, it’s about time to recognize the Rockville ensemble as one of the finest groups ever coming from the States. “Pound for pound”, I mean. Dave Newhouse is the main head behind the charts, his writing touching any single genre or influence you can name. Paul Sears, Tom Scott and Billy Swann are, just like the former, Musicians with the capital “M”, producing intriguing rhythms and melodic spurts comparable to the instinctive act of breathing deeply in the fresh air. Bandwidth is a veritable collection of milestones, with particular regard to “World Maps” and the tryptich “Dear Mona”, “People In The Snow” and “Essay R”. Those tracks are likely to knock you out right away. When I recall that moving to another house in the summer of 2000 – when the band played Rome – caused yours truly to miss the concert, I still shed a tear.

