WHIT DICKEY – In A Heartbeat

(Clean Feed)

Drummer and composer Dickey leads his quintet with technical command and plenty of passion to give; he wrote all the pieces except the opening tune, “Calls” by Carla Bley. The constant drive by Dickey and Chris Lightcap’s bass builds a foundation over which Roy Campbell Jr. (trumpet, pocket trumpet and flugelhorn) and Rob Brown (alto saxophone) throw handfuls of wild calls and small stones to each other, like if they wanted to check the direction of a highly energizing wind; their instrumental prowess is corroborated by a volcanic flux of emergency which leads them to a focused detachment from abstract (and concrete) logic. Joe Morris – who returns to guitar duties after playing bass in the previous “Coalescence” – is silently authoritative, his contrapted arpeggios and inquisitive chordal work a reassuring presence. But the whole quintet is a cohesive force pushing towards the rewarding pleasures of emancipation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s